Saturday, March 7, 2009

New AZ Dem. Chair Same as the Old Chair

The Arizona Democrats have a new state chairman today, the old chairman, attorney Don Bivens.

On January 24, 2009, Bivens was defeated for re-election as the Arizona Democratic Party Chairman by Paul Eckerstrom, a Tucson public defender who served as Pima County Democratic Chairman from 2003-2006.

Eckerstrom defeated Bivens for state chairman on January 24 by of vote of 324 to 255.

On February 6, 2009, Eckerstrom decided he really didn't want to be the state chairman and resigned because of what he claimed were insurmountable logistical demands.

Today the Democrats held another election for state chairman and elected former State Chairman Don Bivens who was nominated by Maricopa County Democratic Chair Ann Wallack and seconded by Eckerstrom.

Bivens was easily elected chairman this time with 482 votes against former legislator Ted Downey of Tucson who got 96 votes, Michael Mandeville of Yavapai County received 7 votes.

We hope the donkeys didn't throw out the stationary with the old letterhead.

No comments:

Post a Comment